Schengen States ease visa rules for Non-New Zealand citizens

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Venkat Raman

The European Commission has eased visa regulations to allow easier access to Non-New Zealanders to travel to Schengen member States.

The move will open up a large part of Europe to New Zealand residents holding passports other than those issued by the New Zealand government.

New Zealand citizens already have easier access to these countries.

The procedure

Claire Reynolds, Manager of Global Visas, an Auckland based company, said that the new rules became effective on February 2, 2020.

“This is good news for New Zealand resident migrants who want to travel to Europe. We can now apply six months before the travel dates and the need for them to go to Australia to have their biometrics done has been removed,” she said.

Ms Reynolds said that Schengen countries that do not have diplomatic presence in New Zealand will now be required to have a representative to take care of their requirements.

“Some embassies and consulates are covering for fellow-Schengen members,” she said.

Ms Reynolds said that there is good news for businesses keen on engaging with these countries.

“Frequent visitors, subject to certain conditions, may be able to get multiple entry visas valid up to five years to travel to the Schengen States,” Ms Reynolds said.

About Schengen Visa

According to the European Commission, a Schengen Visa is a short-stay visa allowing its holder to move within the Schengen areas.

The Schengen Area Map (Source: European Commission)

It covers 26 member countries including Austria, Belgium, Cech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

“A Schengen Visa is an authorisation issued by a Schengen State to (a) transit through or an intended stay in the territory of the Schengen Stages of a duration of no more than 90 days in any 180 days period (Short Stay Visa) and (b) transit through the international transit areas of the Schengen States (Airport Transit Visa),” the Commission said.

Share this story

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Related Stories

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.