Auckland City Election Guide released

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

If you are one of those keen to understand how the ‘new’ Auckland Council would function, its structure and other aspects, you would evince substantial interest in a publication just released by the authorities.

The 16-page Guide called, Auckland: Your Council, Your Vote, was delivered to houses and offices last week by the Electoral Commission to enable people of the City to learn of their rights and responsibilities.

Published by the Auckland Transition Agency, the Guide and contains information on the (Local) Election timetable, details of potential candidates, the voting procedure and the role of the Mayor and the Councillors in the new set-up.

Electoral Officer Dale Ofsoske said the Guide also contains the structure and responsibilities of the 21 local boards and the Council-controlled organisations, District Health Board and Licensing Trust elections.

“Other important information include the Independent Board representing Maori, the Pacific and other ethnic peoples, Service centre locations and new regulatory fees, charges and forms,” he said.

Voting for Council elections and the Mayor of Auckland will be held by post from September 17 to October 9.

55,000 people struck off

According to Murray Wicks, National Manager of the Electoral Enrolment Centre, 55,133 people from various parts of the country have been removed from the Electoral Roll, for failing to inform the Centre of their latest contact details.

“This is equivalent to the population of Invercargill, Rotorua, Whangarei or New Plymouth,” he said.

Mr Wicks said people who change their residence should inform the Centre of their new address and remain updated in the electoral system.

“This is a large number; those removed from the list will not be able to vote in the upcoming Local Government elections including District Health Boards,” he said. 

He said those not in the list can enrol by calling Free Phone 0800367656 or online at

Number of people removed from the

Electoral Roll since 5 July 2010



1.    Auckland


2.    Christchurch City


3.    Wellington City


4.    Hamilton City


5.    Dunedin City


6.    Palmerston North City


7.    Tauranga City


8.    Lower Hutt City


9. New Plymouth District


10.Whangarei District


Source: Electoral Commission, Wellington

Share this story

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Related Stories

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.